[Skip to content]

Print this page

Winners: October - November 14

Between October and November a total of 528 nominations were made, all of which received a personalised certificate from chief executive, Sue James.

On 20 January the overall winners were recognised in the Pride of Derby awards presentation, for going the extra mile for their patients and colleagues.


[ Zoom ]
Helen Wetherell
Best Frontline member of staff

Winner: Helen Wetherell, Staff Nurse, Ward 205

The judges felt Helen turned a potential complaint into a positive experience. 

She supported the patient at the end of his life and provided comfort and support to his relatives. 

During such a difficult time Helen gave them time, space and peace to allow them to say their goodbyes.


[ Zoom ]
Best Behind the Scenes, Martin Tunnicliffe
Best Behind the Scenes member of staff 

Winner: Martin Tunnicliffe, Helipad Assistant

The judges overwhelmingly chose Martin as the winner – Martin truly went way above the normal expectation of any member of staff, let alone any member of the general public in acting in the way that he did to save a young lady’s life during an incident at the Royal Derby Hospital. 

Despite putting himself in danger Martin showed true bravery and courage and instinctively did what needed to be done ultimately saving a young woman’s life.

[ Zoom ]
Best Team, Ward 308

Best Team

Winner: Ward 308

The judges felt the team had demonstrated great ability to turn the despair felt by a patient following the amputation of a leg into a positive view of the future and a feeling that she “had been given her life back”.



[ Zoom ]
Inspirational Leader, Susan Woolley
Inspirational Leader

Winner: Susan Woolley, Midwife, Pregnancy Assessment Unit

The judges agreed that Susan developed a robust system Trust-wide for self administering of Clexane injections.

Susan demonstrated an outstanding knowledge and understanding of the requirements to help both patients and departments within the Trust improving safety and care for all our patients.




Want to nominate a member of staff? Click here.