[Skip to content]

Print this page
.

Acute illness management

Medical education training

Objectives

To provide Registered healthcare professionals with the essential underpinning knowledge necessary to enable them to recognise, assess and manage acutely unwell adult patients. The course utilises a variety of teaching strategies and focuses on clinical assessment, communication and interprofessional team working.

Accrediting Body

Greater Manchester Critical Care Skills Institute

Target Group

Recommended for all Level 1 registered nurses/midwives working in Emergency Department, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Paediatrics, Critical Care and all medical and surgical in-patient specialties. May be relevant to registered clinical staff with direct patient contact.
There is a specific AIM course for Clinical Support Workers. Please see dates below

Duration

The AIM course is run over one day.

Assessment

Candidates will participate in a series of lectures, workshops and scenario practices throughout the day, with individual scenarios being undertaken at the end of the course.  Successful completion of the course results in the candidate being issued a certificate of competence.

Cost

This session is free to all staff employed by the Trust.  External candidates will incur a charge of £100.

Date

Adult AIM

2015

Wednesday, 4th February
Friday, 17th April
Wednesday, 17th June
Thursday, 13th August
Tuesday, 20th October
Wednesday, 2nd December

Paediatric AIM 2015

Friday, 9th January FULL
Thursday, 29th January FULL
Friday, 20th February
Tuesday, 17th March
Wednesday, 20th May
Thursday, 16th July
Wednesday, 28th October
Tuesday, 17th November
Tuesday, 8th December

Specifically for Clinical Support Workers 2015

Wednesday, 14th January
Friday, 1st May
Tuesday, 29th September


Specifically for Clinical Support Workers

Booking Details

Please send an e-mail, with the course title as the subject, to:

dhft.courses@nhs.net 

Useful links

Greater Manchester Critical Care Skills Institute