[Skip to content]

Print this page
.

Immediate Life Support (ILS)

Objectives

To provide the candidate with the knowledge and skills needed to recognise and manage the patient in cardiac arrest following the advanced life support algorithm.  Instruction is given in basic life support, airway management and safe use of the manual defibrillator and/or automated external defibrillator (AED).   

Accrediting Body

Resuscitation Council (UK)

Target Group

Recommended for registered nursing staff in ED, CCU, ICU, SDU and outreach team.  Hospital at night practitioners.  MTO2 and above employed in Clinical Measurement.

Duration

The ILS course is run over one day.

Half day update sessions are available to those who need to re-certify.

Assessment

Candidates are subject to continual assessment throughout the session and are required to be competent at cardiopulmonary resuscitation, safe defibrillation and management of the patient in cardiac arrest.  Successful completion of the session results in the candidate being issued with a certificate from the Resuscitation Council (UK).

Cost

This session is free to all staff employed by the Trust.  External candidates will incur a charge of £125.00 for the full day and £60.00 for the half day ILS Recertification.

Booking Details

To book a place please send an e-mail to the address below including the course name in the Subject:

dhft.resuscourses@nhs.net

 

Additional information for course attendees

Airway management assessment form
Initial resus and defib assess form
Initial resuscitation and defibrillator assessment form

 

Future dates

Full Course (All 09:00 - 16:30)

2019

Friday, 4th January
Monday, 11th February
Friday, 22nd March
Thursday, 4th April
Thursday, 23rd May
Wednesday, 5th June
Monday, 1st July
Thursday, 22nd August
Friday, 13th September
Monday, 21st October
Thursday, 21st November
Thursday, 5th December

Re-certification Course (half day - times as stated)

2019

Wednesday, 16th January, 9.00 - 12.30pm
Monday, 11th March, 1.00 - 4.30pm
Friday, 17th May, 9.00 - 12.30pm
Thursday, 11th July, 9.00 - 12.30pm
Monday, 9th September, 1.00 - 4.30pm
Thursday, 28th November, 1.00 - 4.30pm


Useful Links

Resuscitation Council (UK)